Bug 49233 - [40cat] Build folder synchronization for rename/move/delete java classes
[40cat] Build folder synchronization for rename/move/delete java classes
Status: NEW
Product: java
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Project
4.x
PC Windows XP
: P3 with 6 votes (vote)
: TBD
Assigned To: Tomas Zezula
issues@java
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2004-09-18 16:35 UTC by llturro
Modified: 2011-08-31 14:05 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT
:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description llturro 2004-09-18 16:35:11 UTC
[ BUILD # : 200409100847 ]
[ JDK VERSION : J2SE 1.5.0 ]

This is what happen when you...

1) Rename a class. Build folder ends up with two 
classes, that one with the new name and the old 
one.
2) Move a class. Build folder gets the new copy, 
but never deletes the old one.
3) Delete a class. It's never deleted in build 
folder.

Current workaround is to Clean & Build, but for 
large projects with large dependencies takes long 
time.

There are some scenarios where not cleaning Java 
classes has great repercussion. Factories whose 
implementations are expected in some folder and 
plugins, which use to be located in a particular 
folder. In both cases, NB will make available 
classes that weren't supposed to be there.
Comment 1 Petr Jiricka 2004-09-20 08:10:22 UTC
Changing category to java/project - that's probably closest.
Comment 2 Jesse Glick 2004-12-15 20:22:48 UTC
Sorry, this is what Clean & Build is for. If you don't want to rebuild
subprojects, you can disable that in project properties.
Comment 3 llturro 2004-12-16 11:11:13 UTC
Yes Jesse, but this behavior is counterintuitive. Mostly because other
actions, like creating and modifying, behave as expected, that is,
keeping build folder synchronized.

About cleaning or not required projects, is not a forever yes-or-not
decision. I found much more accurate to propagate the action across
required projects, but performing a clean because the above mentioned,
may lead to cleaning more that often.

Or you want me to keep in mind whether a have deleted/moved/renamed a
file in order to execute Clean & Build next time I want to Build, want
you?
Comment 4 ehucka 2005-03-16 08:48:32 UTC
old tagret milestone, please re-evaluate
Comment 5 llturro 2005-03-16 09:56:22 UTC
As for me, it works quite well in NB4.1. Maybe is a little ugly letting the *.*~
files undeleted in web|src folder. Also, when moving a JSP a got my_jsp.jsp~
duplicated (origin and destination)


By use of this website, you agree to the NetBeans Policies and Terms of Use. © 2014, Oracle Corporation and/or its affiliates. Sponsored by Oracle logo