Bug 180921 - [69cat] After renaming additionally provide old file for deletion in commit dialogue
[69cat] After renaming additionally provide old file for deletion in commit d...
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Product: versioncontrol
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Subversion
6.x
PC Windows XP
: P3 (vote)
: 7.1
Assigned To: Ondrej Vrabec
issues@versioncontrol
: PLAN
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2010-02-18 11:32 UTC by ulfzibis
Modified: 2011-06-11 15:13 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT
:


Attachments
versioning view after a rename (22.64 KB, image/png)
2010-02-19 00:55 UTC, Ondrej Vrabec
Details

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description ulfzibis 2010-02-18 11:32:47 UTC
On machine 1 I added plain file "Changes" and filled with some text.
After I committed single file to SVN repository.
On machine 2 I updated project from SVN repository.
I renamed file "Changes" to "Changes.txt" and then made some changes in the text.
After I committed single file to SVN repository.
On machine 1 I updated project from SVN repository.
After I had to files: "Changes" and "Changes.txt"
Comment 1 Ondrej Vrabec 2010-02-18 14:42:56 UTC
> After I committed single file to SVN repository.
And did you commit also the deletion (you mentioned you committed just a single file)? If you committed only the new file (Changes.txt) and not the deletion of Changes, it's logical you still had the old file (Changes).
Comment 2 ulfzibis 2010-02-18 15:17:48 UTC
Hm, after renaming to "Changes.txt", there was no old file to explicitly commit the deletion for, as it didn't exist anymore.

Before commit the svn label was [copied], so the deletion should be committed automatically on committing the new renamed version of the file.
Comment 3 Ondrej Vrabec 2010-02-19 00:52:57 UTC
ulf, you've been working with subversion for quite some time, so you must have already spotted that when you renamed a file and did Subversion->Show Changes, there are two changes in the view - one new file (Locally Copied) and one deleted file (Locally Removed). That's because subversion handles rename as two operations: copy and delete. So unless you commit the deletion, the old file won't be deleted from the repository. So after every rename, you should run Subversion -> Show changes and commit all changes.
I'm closing this as invalid
Comment 4 Ondrej Vrabec 2010-02-19 00:55:32 UTC
See the attached screenshot - the versioning view after renaming Main.java to Main2.java - there are two changes that need to be committed
Comment 5 Ondrej Vrabec 2010-02-19 00:55:37 UTC
Created attachment 94314 [details]
versioning view after a rename
Comment 6 ulfzibis 2010-02-19 03:08:10 UTC
> ulf, you've been working with subversion for quite some time, so you must have
> already spotted that when you renamed a file and did Subversion->Show Changes,
> there are two changes in the view

1. I never used Subversion->Show Changes to invoke the commit. I always used the context menu from project browser or editor tab.
Until this case I never recognized, that the deletion of the old file wasn't committed "automatically", because it was automatically listed in the commit dialogue. Maybe that was because I usually committed the whole folder or more.

2. My first guess was, there happened something different because (1) I used "Rename" instead of "Refactor->Rename" and/or (2) I only changed the file extension, not the main name.

So I change this to ENHANCEMENT:
Even on single file SVN commit:
After renaming additionally provide old file for deletion in commit dialogue

BTW: Why are there 3 SVN related output windows?
- Subversion
- Versioning Output
- Output tab -> https://....
I think, 2 would be enough.
Comment 7 Ondrej Vrabec 2011-06-10 09:17:27 UTC
fix: http://hg.netbeans.org/core-main/rev/6ddb9c061d9b
Comment 8 Quality Engineering 2011-06-11 15:13:38 UTC
Integrated into 'main-golden', will be available in build *201106110600* on http://bits.netbeans.org/dev/nightly/ (upload may still be in progress)
Changeset: http://hg.netbeans.org/main/rev/6ddb9c061d9b
User: Ondrej Vrabec <ovrabec@netbeans.org>
Log: Issue #180921 - [69cat] After renaming additionally provide old file for deletion in commit dialogue


By use of this website, you agree to the NetBeans Policies and Terms of Use. © 2012, Oracle Corporation and/or its affiliates. Sponsored by Oracle logo