Bug 171420 - Can not remove a remote host if it's used in one of the projects
Can not remove a remote host if it's used in one of the projects
Status: NEW
Product: cnd
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Remote
6.x
All All
: P4 (vote)
: TBD
Assigned To: Vladimir Kvashin
issues@cnd
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2009-09-03 16:45 UTC by Alexander Pepin
Modified: 2009-09-04 15:02 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
Issue Type: DEFECT
:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Alexander Pepin 2009-09-03 16:45:48 UTC
Steps to reproduce:
- add a remote host (do not set it as default)
- create any project 
- set the remote host as a development host for the project
- create another project using localhost
- restart IDE
- call "Manage Hosts" on Projects tree
- remove the remote host and press OK
- restart IDE
- call "Manage Hosts" on Projects tree again
Result: The remote host is still in list. A remote host can be removed only if it's not used in any of the open projects.
Comment 1 Vladimir Kvashin 2009-09-04 10:53:23 UTC
I agree this is a bit strange.
But what is the desired behaviour?
We can not check all the projects and disallow server removal, since we aren't able to check projects that are not open.
On the other hand, silently removing a server that is used in some project isn't good either.

And I don't think it's a P3.
Please upgrade it back if you disagree.
Comment 2 Alexander Pepin 2009-09-04 11:18:02 UTC
I think we should check only open projects and and inform a user if the host is being used by one of them.
I mostly agree with a new priority despite it was very annoying for me when I tried to remove the host with broken
toolchain causing IDE freezes and error windows (see issue #171075). 
Comment 3 Vladimir Kvashin 2009-09-04 11:46:58 UTC
I agree with the proposal to check currently open projects.
Comment 4 Leonid Lenyashin 2009-09-04 15:02:14 UTC
As a simple solution: instead of real deletion of the host, just mark it as deleted and remove it from the displayed
list of hosts. If there will be an attempt to use a tool chain from that host, a dialog should appear asking to change
toolchain or restore the host in the list. Sounds simple...


By use of this website, you agree to the NetBeans Policies and Terms of Use. © 2012, Oracle Corporation and/or its affiliates. Sponsored by Oracle logo