This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 33666

Summary: I18N - hardcoded font sizes in source code not relative toglobal font
Product: platform Reporter: Ken Frank <kfrank>
Component: AutoupdateAssignee: Petr Hrebejk <phrebejk>
Status: VERIFIED FIXED    
Severity: blocker CC: dsimonek, jf4jbug, tboudreau
Priority: P2 Keywords: I18N
Version: 3.x   
Hardware: Sun   
OS: Solaris   
Issue Type: DEFECT Exception Reporter:
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 33246    
Attachments: smaller font size on 2 lines of this panel
smaller font in this panel
textual patch
another area that shows the issue

Description Ken Frank 2003-05-15 20:00:58 UTC
Analysis of source code of current product shows
some some calls to setFont that hardcode a certain
font
size that isn't relative to global font size.

Usually, fonts are obtained from the global font
size
value of the product. But if specific font sizes
are needed, they should be assigned based on a
relative
offset from the default font size instead of as a
specific
size.

This is because the localized products will soon
be able to
set the default font size needed for proper
appearance
of their character sets, and hardcoded fonts may
be too
small for meeting those requirements.

If there are other parts of code where hardcoded
font size
might be set other than setFont, can you also
review
that ?
Issue will be marked with FONTSIZE keyword which
means it 
will not be placed on dashboards for 3.5 or nevada
as
needing waiving but fixes still need to be for the
ML
release of 3.5 and Nevada.


Specific calls to setFont seen in source code:

titleLabel.setFont(new java.awt.Font ("Dialog", 1,
11));  /
/ NOI1
8N
textArea.setFont(new java.awt.Font ("Dialog", 0,
11));// NO
I18N
aboutTextArea.setFont(new java.awt.Font("Dialog",
0, 11));
iconLabel.setFont(new java.awt.Font("Dialog", 1,
11));
jTextArea1.setFont(new java.awt.Font("Dialog", 0,
11));
iconLabel.setFont(new java.awt.Font("Dialog", 1,
11));
descTextArea.setFont(new
java.awt.Font("Monospaced", 0, 12)
);
titleLabel.setFont(new java.awt.Font ("Dialog", 1,
11));
textArea.setFont(new java.awt.Font ("Dialog", 0,
11));
licenceTextArea.setFont(new
java.awt.Font("Monospaced", 0,
12));
jTextArea1.setFont(new java.awt.Font("Dialog", 0,
11));
jTextArea.setFont(new java.awt.Font("Dialog", 0,
11));
textLabel.setFont(new java.awt.Font("Dialog", 1,
11));
Comment 1 Ken Frank 2003-05-15 20:19:28 UTC
Tim Boudreau can provide more information on general issue.
Comment 2 Ken Frank 2003-05-20 19:41:27 UTC
Created attachment 10355 [details]
smaller font size on 2 lines of this panel
Comment 3 Ken Frank 2003-05-20 19:42:30 UTC
Created attachment 10356 [details]
smaller font in this panel
Comment 4 Ken Frank 2003-05-20 19:43:41 UTC
Added 2 gifs that show smaller font in some panels,
may be related to source code lines from original information
or may be additional.
Comment 5 David Simonek 2003-05-22 17:06:05 UTC
Created attachment 10382 [details]
textual patch
Comment 6 David Simonek 2003-05-22 17:11:04 UTC
Attached textual patch should (hopefully) solve fontsize problems in
autoupdate module. I tested the patch.
Comment 7 Ken Frank 2003-05-27 21:31:08 UTC
Created attachment 10471 [details]
another area that shows the issue
Comment 8 Petr Hrebejk 2003-06-05 14:18:25 UTC
The patch is commited into trunk. Please see if it wroks.
Comment 9 David Simonek 2003-06-10 10:59:47 UTC
Yes, I reviewed main trunk build and IMO it works as expected. Marking
as fixed in main trunk.
Comment 10 Ken Frank 2003-06-10 19:20:44 UTC
Just clarifying that all changes are to code
and thus that no testing needs to happen with
UI itself ?

If it does need to happen with UI, can you
tell us what actual windows are affected
(since original issue just referred to code) ?

ken.frank@sun.com
Comment 11 David Simonek 2003-06-16 13:51:15 UTC
Ken, I think UI testing still will be valuable, because font size code
changes means potential change of width/height sometimes even layout
of affected windows.

Affected windows - generaly all windows in Tools/Update Wizard.
Comment 12 David Simonek 2003-06-16 16:49:32 UTC
Aaaaa Tim, please change target milestone and put proper comment next
time, I spent whole our merging the stuff on my local sources just to
find out that you already did it :-(

OK, important is that fixes are in release35 now. Marking as S1S 5 ML
milestone.
Comment 13 Lukas Hasik 2003-06-18 12:49:22 UTC
verified in s1s5_ml 031606_1
new issue #34450 created
Comment 14 Lukas Hasik 2003-06-18 12:49:42 UTC
x
Comment 15 Ken Frank 2003-07-21 22:25:07 UTC
some members of my team saw that after fix, some windows
still did not show all but that the screen was at its maximum
width but cannot be resized once there.

So should issue be reopened or more global issue filed
asking that window wrap to another line or provide scrollbar
or other solution in these cases ?

ken.frank@sun.com