This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 58676

Summary: Cannot add OASIS catalog programmatically by layer
Product: xml Reporter: santhosh <santhosh>
Component: CatalogAssignee: issues@xml <issues>
Status: NEW ---    
Severity: blocker CC: estroh, jglick
Priority: P3 Keywords: API
Version: 4.x   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Exception Reporter:
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 33232    

Description santhosh 2005-05-09 02:12:20 UTC
the xml-catalog module has catalog resolver implementations for oasis, xcatalog
modules. it allows user to mount oasis catalog from userinterface. but the same
can't be done programatically using layer file. the oasis, xcatalog
implemenations are not in public packages.

Ideally:
  xml-catalog module should define dataloaders for oasis, xcatalog files.
  this dataloader should create a dataobject which cantains CatalogReader 
  InstanceCookie.

  then other modules can just simply add their catalog files to 
  Plugins/XML/UserCatalogs by layer file. rest of the work is done by
  dataloaders.

  i am writing a number of moudles which introduces different xml files
  into netbeans. it is very irritating to write CatalogReader implemetation
  class in each of these modules (it is copy/paste and change constants)
Comment 1 Jesse Glick 2005-05-09 19:46:35 UTC
Would also be useful for apisupport and maybe project system. Proposed API does
not look good to me, though. Suggest just public factory methods for creating a
CatalogReader from various well-known sources.
Comment 2 santhosh 2005-05-10 06:14:06 UTC
I feel the approach of DataLoaders & DataObjects is better than factory approach. 
Because I found an issue which says "there is no support for editing mounted 
catalogs". 

if we use DataLoaders & DataObject, later we can plug in our DataNode and some
MultiView implementations which will ease the editing of catalogs in netbeans.
Comment 3 Jesse Glick 2005-05-10 17:23:11 UTC
You don't really edit the catalog mount; you edit the file the mount refers to.
That does not require a specialized data loader for it AFAIK; would require some
kind of addition to the catalog SPI to permit an impl to supply an "Edit" command.

Possibly related: issue #27942.