This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 27426

Summary: [Class Wizard] Enhancement in wizard (new class/method)
Product: java Reporter: miks <miks>
Component: UnsupportedAssignee: Jiri Mzourek <jmzourek>
Status: RESOLVED WONTFIX    
Severity: blocker    
Priority: P3    
Version: 3.x   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows XP   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Exception Reporter:

Description miks 2002-09-18 21:20:10 UTC
It would be nice to have some enhancement in the wizards:
1. It should be possible to add javadoc comments from the 
wizard (perhaps by calling the javadoc UI). 
2. The superclass drop down should show me all the 
possible classes from the java core file and from the 
mounted packages. So we don't need to remember the class 
package either the right spelling of the class.
3. Same for interfaces / Exception a dropdown should 
suggest the user to use the mounted classes.
Comment 1 Jan Becicka 2002-09-19 07:47:20 UTC
Just a question:
ad 2. and 3. Do you mean all the classes from rt.jar? There are about
3000 public classes there.
Comment 2 miks 2002-09-20 06:44:50 UTC
No, the dropdown will not be filled autmatically with the 
3000 classes, but perhaps something like in the editor 
that is incremental (and very well done there), e.g:
a. The dropdown gives me all the packages and the 
classes/interfaces in the actual package.
b. I begin to write the name of the package or the classe 
in the actual package then the drop down update itself so 
only the relevant packages or classes (in the actual 
packages) are displayed....
c. The same should occur if I browse the list of proposed 
packages/classes/Interfaces.
d. This is repeated until I finally wrote the 
classe/interfaces
e. The drop down should not be with constrained to the 
actual list e.g. the user can always type Hashtable 
instead of java.util.Hahstable.
 
By the way the same also should occurs for the member 
variables, and in this case the wizard should propose me 
to use the type of the variable as FQN or to import the 
type (let's call this enhancement 4)

In this case:
If I choose the FQN then the wizard will generate the 
variable in the class like
class A{
 <requested_package>.<requested_class> <variable>
}
If I choose the import then the wizard will generate the 
import statement and variable in the class will be:

<requested_package>.<requested_class>
class A {
<requested_class> <variable>
}
 
Comment 3 Jan Becicka 2003-04-30 12:45:48 UTC
See issue 33313
Comment 4 Martin Matula 2004-11-13 21:08:14 UTC
UI designers decided that the new class wizard should be simple. So,
it was simplified making this issue invalid.
Comment 5 Quality Engineering 2007-09-20 11:57:22 UTC
Reorganization of java component