Please use the Apache issue tracking system for new NetBeans issues (https://issues.apache.org/jira/projects/NETBEANS0/issues) !!

Bug 242991

Summary: Tools Collection found, then lost, during New Remote Host Setup
Product: cnd Reporter: skomisa
Component: RemoteAssignee: issues <issues.netbeans.org>
Status: RESOLVED WONTFIX QA Contact: issues <issues.netbeans.org>
Priority: P3    
Version: 8.0   
Target Milestone: TBD   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows 7   
Whiteboard:
Issue Type: DEFECT Exception Report:
Attachments: Before and after shots when trying to add remote tool collection

Description skomisa 2014-03-18 03:59:09 UTC
Created attachment 146090 [details]
Before and after shots when trying to add remote tool collection

Environment:
I have two Windows 7 PCs running NetBeans Dev 201403170001 with C/C++ installed.
I have installed Cygwin on both PCs, and I can successfully build and run C++ applications locally on both machines.
I have also installed OpenSSH for Windows on both machines over port 22, and the machines can see each other in the New Remote Host Setup dialog.

Overview:
I am unable to configure a remote host so that its tool collection is found when attempting C++ remote development between two Windows machines.

Description:
When I attempt to find a Tool Collection on the Remote host using the New Remote Host Setup dialog:

- I successfully authenticate using password.

- The remote tool collection is found initially. See the attached screen shot for the "Setup Host" step (left shot) which states:
    Connecting to John-PC...Done.
    Configuring host...
    Validating platform... found PLATFORM_GENERIC
    Looking for tool collections:
    Done. Found 1 tool collection(s).
    Tool collections were successfully configured.

- Great! However, about one second later, without me doing anything, the screen moves on to the Summary step, and states that the Tool Collection is now "None()". See the right screen shot on the attachment.

So it seems that the tool collection was found, but then some problem was encountered when adding the tool collection. 

All other bugs I see in this area appear to be for Unix-to-Unix connections. Is Windows-to-Windows supported? If so, are any special steps required with respect to permissions, etc?
Comment 1 Alexander Simon 2014-03-18 06:14:01 UTC
Windows is unsupported remote platform.
By use of this website, you agree to the NetBeans Policies and Terms of Use. © 2014, Oracle Corporation and/or its affiliates. Sponsored by Oracle logo