This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 222587

Summary: Classnames in stacktraces are not recognized as such --> no link to line in editor
Product: projects Reporter: akobberup
Component: MavenAssignee: Tomas Stupka <tstupka>
Status: REOPENED ---    
Severity: normal CC: bht, chrizzly, markiewb
Priority: P3    
Version: 7.3   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows 7 x64   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Exception Reporter:
Bug Depends on: 205359    
Bug Blocks:    

Description akobberup 2012-11-22 11:29:06 UTC
In some of the projects i am developing, nb is not recognizing stacktraces in the output-window as such, and thus no links are provided for navigating to the line in the code that causes the error.

Below this is pasted some text from the output window - this is not highlighted as links, even though "com.b.manager.client.components.team.teamprice.TeamPriceEditDialog" is in the currently opened project...

(this is a GWT project run via maven, and the logging used is java.util.logging)




cd C:\code\b\gwtclients; "JAVA_HOME=C:\\Program Files\\Java\\jdk1.7.0_09" "\"C:\\Program Files\\NetBeans Dev 201211170002\\java\\maven\\bin\\mvn.bat\"" -Dgwt.noserver=true -DMAVEN_OPTS=-DXmx=512m -DskipTests=true -Pgwtcompile compile gwt:run
Scanning for projects...
                                                                        
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Building GWTClients 2.1.0-SNAPSHOT
------------------------------------------------------------------------

[resources:resources]
Using 'UTF-8' encoding to copy filtered resources.
Copying 234 resources

[compiler:compile]
Compiling 1 source file to C:\code\b\gwtclients\target\classes

>>> gwt-maven-plugin:2.4.0:run (default-cli) @ gwtclients >>>

[resources:resources]
Using 'UTF-8' encoding to copy filtered resources.
Copying 234 resources

[compiler:compile]
Compiling 1 source file to C:\code\b\gwtclients\target\classes

<<< gwt-maven-plugin:2.4.0:run (default-cli) @ gwtclients <<<

[gwt:run]
noServer is set! Skipping exploding war file...
Thu Nov 22 12:13:17 CET 2012 
WARNING: Exception caught
java.lang.NullPointerException: null
	at com.b.manager.client.components.team.teamprice.TeamPriceEditDialog.doUpdate(TeamPriceEditDialog.java:147)
	at com.b.manager.client.components.team.teamprice.TeamPriceEditDialog.access$1(TeamPriceEditDialog.java:142)
	at com.b.manager.client.components.team.teamprice.TeamPriceEditDialog$3.buttonClicked(TeamPriceEditDialog.java:69)
	at com.b.pcwidgets.client.util.dialog.PopupUtil$9.onClick(PopupUtil.java:379)
	at com.google.gwt.event.dom.client.ClickEvent.dispatch(ClickEvent.java:54)
	at com.google.gwt.event.dom.client.ClickEvent.dispatch(ClickEvent.java:1)
	at com.google.gwt.event.shared.GwtEvent.dispatch(GwtEvent.java:1)
...
...
...
Comment 1 akobberup 2012-11-22 12:11:37 UTC
Here is another example - this one on my jetty server (also started via maven) logged via log4j.
The classes from my project in this stacktrace are not recognized either.
...
...
...
22 nov 2012 13:07:44 [1233455287@qtp-570712744-9] ERROR (ServiceInvoker.java:78) - Exception invoking method updateTeamPrice with request class com.b.manager.shared.service.teamprice.UpdateTeamPriceRequest: [Request [Class: UpdateTeamPriceRequest][Type: TeamPrice]]
java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:57)
	at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
	at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:601)
	at com.b.manager.server.service.support.ServiceInvokerHelper.invokeTransactionReadWrite(ServiceInvokerHelper.java:23)
	at com.b.manager.server.service.support.ServiceInvoker.invoke(ServiceInvoker.java:74)
	at com.b.manager.server.service.support.AbstractService.doRequest(AbstractService.java:86)
	at sun.reflect.GeneratedMethodAccessor225.invoke(Unknown Source)
	at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
	at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:601)
...
...
...
Comment 2 Jaroslav Havlin 2012-11-22 12:49:27 UTC
Parsing of output lines is not performed by output window, but by its clients, in this case Maven runner.

Reassigning. Milos, please evaluate. Thanks.
Comment 3 Milos Kleint 2012-11-23 12:01:39 UTC
not strictly a bug, we only provide the stacktrace annotation in the output where we know the context, processing of stacktraces requires a search space (in our case ClassPath) where one looks for matches. Defining the search space is the tricky part here, especially given that often maven builds multimodule projects where each module has different classpath.
So we only implement it for surefire:test, exec:exec (used in main class execution) and some other goals. gwt:run is not covered currently. There's an easy workaround though, Copy the stacktrace and paste it into the Analyze Stack window. That one's context is always opened projects.

-> enhancement, was never implemented and the per goal mapping is intentional. We might either consider lifting the limitation or implement it for gwt:run (I suppose jetty:run would be similar candidate)
Comment 4 markiewb 2014-05-07 20:16:28 UTC
*** Bug 244236 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 5 Martin Balin 2016-07-07 08:37:28 UTC
This old bug may not be relevant anymore. If you can still reproduce it in 8.2 development builds please reopen this issue.

Thanks for your cooperation,
NetBeans IDE 8.2 Release Boss
Comment 6 markiewb 2016-07-10 19:23:31 UTC
Still valid in 8.2 dev 
Product Version: NetBeans IDE Dev (Build 201607100002)
Comment 7 Christian Lenz 2017-03-02 11:27:20 UTC
It happens, when I work on the NB source and run the module and an exception occurs. Then Ant will run it or is it maven? I don't know atm. The same happens for JS stacktraces if you run a webapplication or a node application.
Comment 8 Christian Lenz 2017-03-02 11:49:11 UTC
*** Bug 257713 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***