This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 192095

Summary: On Solaris debugger hangs if full path to executable ~240 or more symbols
Product: cnd Reporter: soldatov <soldatov>
Component: DebuggerAssignee: Egor Ushakov <gorrus>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: normal CC: ivan
Priority: P2 Keywords: TEST
Version: 7.0   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Solaris   
Issue Type: DEFECT Exception Reporter:

Description soldatov 2010-11-18 10:02:11 UTC
Automatic remote gdb tests hangs, but this problem can be reproduced on local Solaris machine also.

Scenario:
- Create Welcome in /tmp/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/ folder
- Run it
==> ok
- Start debugger
==> debugger hangs

In remote scenario minimal path contains ~100 symbols. For example: /export/hudson/home/.netbeans/remote/mac.x86-MacOSX-x86/Users/tester/base/testbase/tests/build
Real paths more long.
Comment 1 Egor Ushakov 2010-11-18 15:34:38 UTC
look like gdb MI issue, if you run
gdb --interpreter mi
-file-exec-and-symbols /tmp/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
it hangs.
Comment 2 Egor Ushakov 2010-11-18 15:41:13 UTC
I've filed a bug on gdb:
http://sourceware.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=12229
we may try to workaround this by using console command instead of MI, it works fine.
Comment 3 Egor Ushakov 2010-11-18 16:19:40 UTC
this is a regression, in new infrastructure gdb works in a console and so it has limited command size
Comment 4 ivan 2010-11-18 19:21:37 UTC
(In reply to comment #3)
> this is a regression, in new infrastructure gdb works in a console and so it
> has limited command size

I don't really understand what you're saying.
Is "works in a console" equivalent to "runs under pty"?
    If so, you don't need a pty for the gdb console. The Tap
    class simulates enough line buffering and other pty's stuff.
Comment 5 Egor Ushakov 2010-11-24 11:46:04 UTC
fixed in:
http://hg.netbeans.org/cnd-main/rev/124f0db3556c

disabled pty for gdb process
Comment 6 Quality Engineering 2010-11-25 06:18:45 UTC
Integrated into 'main-golden', will be available in build *201011250001* on http://bits.netbeans.org/dev/nightly/ (upload may still be in progress)
Changeset: http://hg.netbeans.org/main/rev/124f0db3556c
User: Egor Ushakov <gorrus@netbeans.org>
Log: fixed #192095 (On Solaris debugger hangs if full path to executable ~240 or more symbols) - do not use pty for gdb process
Comment 7 Quality Engineering 2017-04-08 03:09:01 UTC
Integrated into 'main-silver', will be available in build *201704080002* on http://bits.netbeans.org/dev/nightly/ (upload may still be in progress)

Changeset: http://hg.netbeans.org/main-silver/rev/80a29371b8df
User: Egor Ushakov <gorrus@netbeans.org>
Log: fixed #192095 (On Solaris debugger hangs if full path to executable ~240 or more symbols) - do not use pty for gdb process