This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 149194

Summary: The Way the Navigator displays Data
Product: javascript Reporter: urkman <urkman>
Component: EditorAssignee: Petr Pisl <ppisl>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: blocker CC: ppisl
Priority: P2    
Version: 6.x   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Exception Reporter:
Attachments: Small Object in navigator

Description urkman 2008-10-06 09:05:57 UTC
I don't like the Way, the Navaigator displays the Data.
Let's say we have this Code:
var foo = {
    fooProp: null,
    fooFunc: function () {
        var localObject = {'foo': 1, 'bar': 2};
    }
};

Then the Navgator displays the following:
1.) 2 times "foo". One time as a variable and one time as an Object. Why we need the same name two times?
2.) It displays the localObject( it's only visible in the fooFunc scope ) on the toplevel. Why? 

When you work on large files( containing a lot of objects ), the navigator is simply unuseble, because it is totaly
overloaded.

I will add a screenshot to show this on a small object.

Probaly solutions:
to 1.) I think this is a bug. Nobody needs a name two times inside the navigator, so it should be fixed.
to 2.) Perhaps the display of the objects( which are not in the globle scope ) can be switched off using filters.

As an Example open the following file( It is an JavaScript Library ) and see that the navigator is completely
overloaded, useless and totaly confusing:
http://kevin.vanzonneveld.net/code/php_equivalents/php.namespaced.js

I allready mentioned this in another issue: http://www.netbeans.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=149001 

Greetings,
Stefan Sturm
Comment 1 urkman 2008-10-06 09:09:58 UTC
Created attachment 71179 [details]
Small Object in navigator
Comment 2 urkman 2008-10-08 10:03:28 UTC
Hello,

no one working with larger files and thinks this is more then a Enhancement?

Greetings,
Stefan Sturm
Comment 3 Petr Pisl 2008-10-08 12:49:08 UTC
Hi Stefan, now we are just before the releasing NetBeans 6.5, so now there is not much time for enhancements. 
Comment 4 urkman 2008-11-25 11:21:42 UTC
Hello,

now we are after the 6.5 Release. Hope, now there is time to spend on this :-)

Urkman
Comment 5 urkman 2009-06-10 06:58:47 UTC
Still no one working on this problem?
Comment 6 Petr Pisl 2015-05-21 14:06:54 UTC
The editor in these days works in different way. I think it's ok.