This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 131374

Summary: the prefix of each line in Disasm view makes asm difficult to debug
Product: cnd Reporter: Vladimir Voskresensky <vv159170>
Component: DebuggerAssignee: Maria Tishkova <mromashova>
Status: NEW ---    
Severity: blocker Keywords: USABILITY
Priority: P3    
Version: 6.x   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Exception Reporter:

Description Vladimir Voskresensky 2008-03-28 07:08:03 UTC
When was in disasm view I stepi into "call" and got the presentation where
the prefix of each line makes asm difficult to see and step through

_ZN37_GLOBAL__N_quote.cc_00000000_5CB5B11F12readNumberOfEPKcii+15: movl   $0x804f4a0,(%esp)
_ZN37_GLOBAL__N_quote.cc_00000000_5CB5B11F12readNumberOfEPKcii+22: call   0x8048d9c
<_ZStlsISt11char_traitsIcEERSt13basic_ostreamIcT_ES5_PKc@plt>
_ZN37_GLOBAL__N_quote.cc_00000000_5CB5B11F12readNumberOfEPKcii+27: mov    %eax,%edx

Is it possible to remove prefix from editor and put it in Disasm view title (if needed at all)?
Comment 1 Vladimir Voskresensky 2008-03-28 07:26:02 UTC
Hm... I see some titles of Disasm window have this name in () and tab name just full screen width. 
So, please, do not do that.
Better just put this string into the status bar of your disasm *editor* next to line:col mode info:
| 8:11 | INS | _ZN37_GLOBAL__N_quote.cc_00000000_5CB5B11F12readNumberOfEPKcii

If someone is interested it's OK to look there, but so big title is not good at all
Comment 2 Egor Ushakov 2008-09-15 11:08:51 UTC
there is a gdb command for asm demangling:
set print asm-demangle on
Comment 3 Egor Ushakov 2008-12-08 17:17:12 UTC
Jump targets presented in the form "function+offset", so for users it is ok to jump from main+128 to the line with the
same prefix. Without such prefixes it will be unclear where we hyperlinked to.
gdb can do demangling with the command I posted before.
Anyway asm parser changes is required as well.