This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 113100

Summary: Query Editor: "View Data" and "Design Query" show different values for NCLOB-column
Product: obsolete Reporter: _ alexpetrov <alexpetrov>
Component: visualwebAssignee: John Baker <jbaker>
Status: NEW ---    
Severity: blocker CC: romanmostyka
Priority: P3    
Version: 6.x   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: DEFECT Exception Reporter:
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 152776    
Attachments: sql-script

Description _ alexpetrov 2007-08-17 15:36:30 UTC
Product Version: NetBeans IDE Dev (Build 200708160000) 
Java: 1.6.0_02; Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM 1.6.0_02-b06 
System: Windows XP version 5.1 running on x86; Cp1251; ru_RU (nb)

1. Connect to DB Oracle 10g (for example: jdbc:oracle:thin:@jbrave-pc1.sfbay.sun.com:1521:ora10g)
2. Create new DB table with NCLOB-column by using an attached sql-script (create_db_table_with_nclob.sql).
   Pay attention that values of table column "nclob_data" is not NULL.
3. Use popup menu item "View Data" for created DB table "Tempo".

Result:
- an appeared window "SQL Command" contains data table with NULL values for column "NCLOB_DATA".

4. Use popup menu item "Design Query" for created DB table "Tempo".
   Use popup menu item "Run Query" in the SQL-Statement pane.

Result:
- an appeared data table contains empty column "NCLOB_DATA" (column doesn't contain NULL values).
Comment 1 _ alexpetrov 2007-08-17 15:37:32 UTC
Created attachment 46795 [details]
sql-script
Comment 2 Andrei Badea 2007-10-09 15:25:54 UTC
> Pay attention that values of table column "nclob_data" is not NULL.

Well, the statement 

    select id from TEMPO where nclob_data is null

retrieves all three records, so I'm not really sure about this. Moreover, 

    select to_lob(long_data) from tempo where id = 1

fails with an error. If you change the script to really put data in the nclob_data field using e.g. 

    update tempo set nclob_data = 'Data_for_' || to_clob(name)

then the query editor displays "[clob of size 19]" as the value of the field.

Best for db/visualsqleditor to use the execution logic in db/core.
Comment 3 John Baker 2008-01-12 05:31:52 UTC
I think the whole parsing/execution should be redone for Visual SQL Editor by using a similar execution mechanism as
used in db/core
Comment 4 Petr Blaha 2008-11-18 13:07:43 UTC
Move visualsqleditor subcomponents below visualweb