This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 106741

Summary: Input doesn't work in the I/O window anymore
Product: platform Reporter: Torbjorn Norbye <tor>
Component: Output WindowAssignee: Milos Kleint <mkleint>
Status: VERIFIED FIXED    
Severity: blocker CC: musilt2
Priority: P2    
Version: 6.x   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: DEFECT Exception Reporter:

Description Torbjorn Norbye 2007-06-15 04:39:36 UTC
I'm using the output window in the Ruby support to run user processes. Some of these can take input. For example, create a Ruby application and change 
the showing source file to

x = gets
puts "Bye " + x

Run it.  In previous milestones, this worked; you could enter input in the textfield below the output window (which my code enabled by calling

InputOutput.setInputVisible(true)

But recently, it's no longer working. I suspect this is because of the improved handling of I/O where there's a cursor in the output window itself?  I imagine 
this was implemented precisely to allow the kind of thing I'm trying to do, but either it's not working, or I'm supposed to do something different to enable 
it.
Comment 1 Torbjorn Norbye 2007-06-15 04:41:34 UTC
By "it's no longer working", I meant that pressing the Return key seems to have no effect, it does not seem to "commit" the input to the process such that the 
program can proceed.
Comment 2 Milos Kleint 2007-06-19 11:46:00 UTC
fixed. got broken by another fix that needs Enter to follow links in OW. Following links now works only when no input is
requested (mouse clicking still works in that case). When input is requested by the underlying process, enter key means
"send what was typed"
Comment 3 Milos Kleint 2007-06-21 18:23:26 UTC
*** Issue 107221 has been marked as a duplicate of this issue. ***
Comment 4 Tomas Danek 2007-11-29 12:46:12 UTC
input can be sent by enter now, that's ok. The other thing is that input is not shown during typing, I'll file another
issue for that.

verified in 

Product Version: NetBeans IDE 6.0 (Build 200711261600)
Java: 1.6.0_02; Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM 1.6.0_02-b05
System: Linux version 2.6.20-16-generic running on i386; UTF-8; en_US (nb)
Userdir: /home/tomas/.netbeans/6.0