Bug 32507 - Usability and safety use of the NB installer
Usability and safety use of the NB installer
Status: VERIFIED WONTFIX
Product: installer
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Code
3.x
All Linux
: P1 (vote)
: TBD
Assigned To: issues@installer
issues@installer
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2003-03-31 11:22 UTC by dmladek
Modified: 2004-03-04 22:29 UTC (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Issue Type: DEFECT
:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description dmladek 2003-03-31 11:22:56 UTC
For testing purposes I took DEV installer (it
containes 2 fixes which
should come into 3.5) from 28 MAR, 03.


I found following things as very critical and
dangerous when it is used for installing of
product. It cause Data lost, thus it is P1.

Description:
=============
It is not intuitive when the user wish import
settings from previous versions:
-Offered is only 3.4 from combo box (even thought
it has to know
 import from some of version of FFJ and S1S)

-Data lost when the user desided to import
settings selecting
 ver.3.4 from drop down list! Following dialog
isn't related to
 the dir which contains old user settings, but it
is related to
 the installation dir (which is IMHO illogical,
but that's my
 oppenion). BUT dangerous and data lsot is that
user isn't warned
 that this dir contains some date and if you wish
to override them.
 It is simply and silently go through the inst.
proccess with the 
 result my previous settings are mixed together
with new version
 of product.

-uninstallation is impossible. Don't know if it is
side effect of
 the mixed settings and product in one dir or not.
But an attempt
 to unistall the product failed with this message:
 "ERROR: cannot find product /product.xml"
Comment 1 dmladek 2003-03-31 11:51:17 UTC
CC'ing Martin and Ian
Comment 2 Richard Gregor 2003-03-31 12:14:46 UTC
Hi,

Dan installer uses autodection. That means in combo there are only
installations of IDE which were properly installed or unzipped and
user uses standard userdir (doesn't use -userdir switch). I think use
of -userdir switch is not common and we try to get rid of case when
user should know were settings are stored. 

Fact that user should select installdir (not userdir)is described in
text area above textfield for dir path. From my point of view
intuitive enough.

Problem with no warning when user selects no-empty install dir looks
serious and I'll investigate more what can I do with it. This part of
installer uses InstallShield's proprietary install action - I hope
warning dialog is standard part of it. The same with uninstaller - but
it might be side effect of previous issue.
Comment 3 Richard Gregor 2003-04-01 08:53:46 UTC
There is new issue 3254 about prompting user before replacing files. 
Comment 4 Richard Gregor 2003-04-01 08:55:20 UTC
I apologize there is typo in my previous comment. New issue is issue
32524 .
Comment 5 dmladek 2003-04-01 09:28:14 UTC
Thank you Risa for separrating issue:-)
I was little bit in hurry and mixed things too much together.
Comment 6 Richard Gregor 2003-04-01 11:45:08 UTC
According to discussion with HIE and marketing I sign this as wontfix.
Actual usage of installer is according user needs. 

But there should be documented possibility of using import settings
wizard in documentation (release notes or such a document).  
Comment 7 Richard Gregor 2003-04-01 11:45:54 UTC
wontfixing.
Comment 8 dmladek 2003-04-04 11:47:15 UTC
OK then :-(
Comment 9 Patrick Keegan 2003-04-04 15:08:10 UTC
Richard, is it possible to get the Import Settings wizard if you use the installer? For me, the Import 
Settings wizard only shows up if I install the IDE with the zip distribution.
Comment 10 Richard Gregor 2003-04-04 15:12:01 UTC
 If you remove your userdir then there should be ISW displayed. Ask
Vita Stejskal for more info.
Comment 11 Patrick Keegan 2003-04-04 16:00:42 UTC
OK, that's what I thought. So in the readme, I'll add something in the installation/upgrading 
section like [Richard, please check, especially the part about where the userdir is located by default]:

"The installer only recognizes previous installations where the user directory resides in the default 
location. It does not recognize installations where you have specified a user directory using the 
-userdir switch. If you would like to import settings from an IDE that the installer does not recognize, 
you need to remove the user directory that the installer has set up for you. The next time you start the 
IDE, the Import Settings wizard will appear and give you the opportunity to specify the IDE 
installation that you want to import settings from.

To import settings from an IDE installation that the installer does not recognize:

1. Complete the installation. 
2. On your system, find the user directory (netbeans/3.5)that installer has created for you. The IDE user 
directory stores your personal settings This directory is located in the directory that your operating 
system, by convention, designates for user-specific data. On Microsoft Windows systems, the Documents and 
Settings folder is typically used. On UNIX and Linux systems, the usr/netbeans/3.5 directory is used. If 
you are unsure where the user directory is located, start the IDE, choose Help | About, and click the 
Details tab. The User Dir field shows the location of the IDE user directory.
3. Delete the IDE user directory from your system.
4. Restart the IDE.
5. In the Import Settings Wizard, designate the home directory of the IDE that you want to import 
settings from."
Comment 12 Vitezslav Stejskal 2003-04-04 17:16:56 UTC
IMO the user's home directory is used on unix/linux system which is
the /home/<username>.
Comment 13 Patrick Keegan 2003-04-04 20:39:53 UTC
I changed my mind. Rather than doing all of that explaining for the hack (which could confuse other users 
who it doesn't concern), I decided to write the following at the beginning of the Compatibility/Upgrade 
section:

"When you first run the IDE, you can import the settings that you used in a previous installation of the 
IDE. These settings include project-specific settings and global options. If you choose not to import 
settings from a previous release, the IDE begins with a set of default settings. 
If you use an installer, the installer guides you through project import choices. If you run the IDE from 
an unpacked archive, the Settings Import Wizard appears the first time you run the IDE and guides you 
through the choices. 

Note: The installer only recognizes previous installations where the user directory resides in the 
default location. It does not recognize installations where you have specified a user directory using the 
-userdir switch. If you would like to import settings from an IDE that the installer does not recognize, 
download an archive version of the IDE instead of the installer."
Comment 14 Patrick Keegan 2004-03-04 22:29:14 UTC
import scenario simplified for 3.6. removing RELNOTE keyword


By use of this website, you agree to the NetBeans Policies and Terms of Use. © 2012, Oracle Corporation and/or its affiliates. Sponsored by Oracle logo