Bug 26723 - installer deletes userdirectories when upgrading)
installer deletes userdirectories when upgrading)
Status: CLOSED FIXED
Product: installer
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Code
3.x
PC Windows ME/2000
: P1 (vote)
: 3.x
Assigned To: Richard Gregor
issues@installer
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2002-08-22 22:48 UTC by radam
Modified: 2005-07-15 14:16 UTC (History)
2 users (show)

See Also:
Issue Type: DEFECT
:


Attachments
diff of changes (1.38 KB, patch)
2002-08-28 07:46 UTC, Richard Gregor
Details | Diff
diff of changes in trunk (4.70 KB, patch)
2002-08-28 13:26 UTC, Richard Gregor
Details | Diff

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description radam 2002-08-22 22:48:12 UTC
the installer of 3.4 rc2 has deleted my mounted 
userdirectory (with the name netbeans in it) when 
upgrading. My userdirectory was before the upgrade not in 
mydocuments. After the upgrade the directory (with several 
subdirectories) was deleted.
Comment 1 Richard Gregor 2002-08-23 08:56:57 UTC
Please, could you provide more details? Which version of IDE did you
upgrade, where it was installed with what user dir ect?
Installer should remove old userdir after upgrade in case old userdir
is different than new userdir. Your files from old directory should be
in new userdir - under mydocuments\.netbeans\<version>
Thanks.
Comment 2 Richard Gregor 2002-08-26 09:59:10 UTC
Fixed in main trunk. Installer will no remove user_dir at all.
Comment 3 Richard Gregor 2002-08-28 07:46:01 UTC
Created attachment 7227 [details]
diff of changes
Comment 4 Richard Gregor 2002-08-28 07:56:47 UTC
Fixed also in release34.
Comment 5 Filip Rachunek 2002-08-28 09:37:58 UTC
The patch is OK. The only change is that the code deleting old user
dir has been removed, which is exactly what the fix should do.
Comment 6 Richard Gregor 2002-08-28 13:24:23 UTC
There is problem with installer freeze during uninstalling the
previous version discovered by QA. Additional patch is needed to
disable possibility to do upgrade and to allow the user only to
install new version and to import settings.    
Comment 7 Richard Gregor 2002-08-28 13:26:52 UTC
Created attachment 7232 [details]
diff of changes in trunk
Comment 8 _ mihmax 2002-11-28 10:03:50 UTC
It seems that I forgot to rtag installer with release341_base tag and
branch a release341.

Should I do that?
Comment 9 Richard Gregor 2002-11-28 10:31:46 UTC
Probably yes.R.
Comment 10 _ mihmax 2002-11-28 14:13:08 UTC
I did tagging & branching.
Comment 11 Michal Mocnak 2005-07-15 14:16:22 UTC
Closed


By use of this website, you agree to the NetBeans Policies and Terms of Use. © 2012, Oracle Corporation and/or its affiliates. Sponsored by Oracle logo