Please use the Apache issue tracking system for new NetBeans issues (https://issues.apache.org/jira/projects/NETBEANS0/issues) !!
Bug 241318 - Project group '(none)' remembers opened projects
Project group '(none)' remembers opened projects
Status: REOPENED
Product: projects
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Generic Infrastructure
8.0
PC Windows 7
: P4 with 1 vote (vote)
: TBD
Assigned To: Milos Kleint
issues@projects
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2014-02-03 10:53 UTC by kalwi
Modified: 2016-05-19 09:32 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
Issue Type: DEFECT
:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description kalwi 2014-02-03 10:53:31 UTC
Unlike in 7.4, the project group '(none)' remembers previously opened projects (and files).

This behaviour became with the new 'Manage Groups' dialog where the default '(none)' empty group behaves like a regular project group. I'm not sure whether the previous behaviour was considered as a bug or the new one is a bug.

I like rather the previous behaviour - choosing the '(none)' group allowed me to quickly close all opened projects (and files). At now, if I have a regular project group opened and I had a lot of projects opened in the '(none)' group, then switching to it means reopening of all projects from the previous '(none)' session, which can be very slow if there was a lot of projects opened.


Product Version: NetBeans IDE Dev (Build 201401280001)
Java: 1.7.0_51; Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM 24.51-b03
Runtime: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment 1.7.0_51-b13
System: Windows 7 version 6.1 running on amd64; Cp1250; en_US (nb)
Comment 1 Martin Kozeny 2014-02-03 12:03:26 UTC
This was a new feature in 8.0. See https://netbeans.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=235343. You can easily close all projects in none group using File->Close All Projects(https://netbeans.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=190839) in order to have clear Project tab. Thank you. Closing as INVALID.
Comment 2 kalwi 2014-02-03 21:50:06 UTC
Well, Close All Projects in the '(none)' group in fact means to close opened project of the current group, then open all projects of the '(none)' group, then close them again. Slow. But I see I have to live with it.
Comment 3 kalwi 2016-05-19 09:32:23 UTC
I have another proposal of solution which is not in conflict with the newly implemented feature mentioned above:

The '(none)' group should be configurable like any other regular group (at now, the properties button is disabled for this group). Then I could just uncheck the 'Automatically Save Project List', which would completely solve my problem.


I use this way as a workaround – I have defined another '(NONE)' group with that configuration which I use instead of the built-in '(none)' group.


By use of this website, you agree to the NetBeans Policies and Terms of Use. © 2014, Oracle Corporation and/or its affiliates. Sponsored by Oracle logo