Bug 138595 - "Reset to Default Settings" function
"Reset to Default Settings" function
Status: NEW
Product: platform
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Options&Settings
6.x
All All
: P1 with 2 votes (vote)
: TBD
Assigned To: Theofanis Oikonomou
issues@platform
: UI
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2008-06-30 10:29 UTC by Petr Dvorak
Modified: 2011-11-04 11:31 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT
:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Petr Dvorak 2008-06-30 10:29:52 UTC
This issue has following motivation: I have replied about 30 e-mails on nbusers concerning messed up IDE settings. All
of them could be solved only by clearing the userdir at that moment (or digging in the userdir) as no GUI was available.
I was even thinking about attaching a signature "Delete your userdir if you have some problems with IDE settings you
cannot solve".

However, I think we cannot just ask user to delete some mysterious folder he/she is not even aware of in most cases...
Nobody is interested in the fact there is some miracle called userdir (read "The Mighty Userdir") that can be safely
deleted - users want to use the IDE.

Maybe it would be nice if we allowed user to clear the userdir in GUI - we can call it "Reset Default IDE Settings" or
something like that. The button can be placed in Tools>Options>General. User will get "Yes/No" dialog and if he/she
clicks Yes, the current userdir will be deleted and IDE will be restarted with fresh settings (userdir will be recreated
using the same mechanisms it uses now).

I find this feature quite essential (and it should be easy to implement??) regarding the number of e-mails I have read
on nbusers concerning issues that can be solved by clearing userdir only...
Comment 1 Peter Pis 2008-09-01 12:02:19 UTC
Reassigning to core.
Comment 2 Petr Dvorak 2008-09-01 12:06:12 UTC
Let me implement it, please:-)! (???)

PS: Advices are welcome... ;) Jirka? How do I restart IDE in code? ;)
Comment 3 Jiri Skrivanek 2008-09-01 12:52:04 UTC
I am not sure about it. User might have important data in userdir. Better ask Human Interface Engineers for their
opinion. BTW, look at Plugin manager how to restart IDE.
Comment 4 Petr Dvorak 2008-09-01 12:57:10 UTC
:) I will have a look at it, Jirka.

Well, I know that there might be some important data in the userdir, like IDE settings or defined Libraries. But there
would be the dialog that would say it is really a "Reset to factory settings" (simply said). The main motivation is to
allow user to get out of some difficult situations - and deleting userdir is frequently the only solution (see NBUsers
mailing list...) -> we probably should have more friendly way of performing this task...
Comment 5 Petr Dvorak 2008-09-01 18:52:57 UTC
Nice, votes for the issue are lost...


By use of this website, you agree to the NetBeans Policies and Terms of Use. © 2012, Oracle Corporation and/or its affiliates. Sponsored by Oracle logo