Bug 1169 - There is no GUI equivalent of a "Cancel" button in the Explorer, i.e. way to reset properties.
There is no GUI equivalent of a "Cancel" button in the Explorer, i.e. way to ...
Status: CLOSED WONTFIX
Product: platform
Classification: Unclassified
Component: -- Other --
3.x
All All
: P4 (vote)
: TBD
Assigned To: Jesse Glick
issues@platform
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 1999-02-11 21:00 UTC by Jesse Glick
Modified: 2008-12-23 10:56 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
Issue Type: DEFECT
:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Jesse Glick 1999-02-11 21:00:17 UTC
This is most visible in control panels, which on standard GUI systems have "OK", "Cancel" and "Apply" actions. In some ways the immediate application of changes is nice, and fits with the general "e
xploration" GUI motif. However, sometimes a user just changes his mind and wants the previous setting back, and there is no apparent way to get it if it was forgotten.

Suggestion: for certain Explorer views showing property lists (especially control panels, but maybe elsewhere too?), when a new node is freshly displayed and its properties made available, and upon fi
rst modification of any displayed writable property--begin to save an undo history for this node`s properties, which will be cleared if this node is deselected etc.; Undo/Redo actions would work for p
roperties set on this node; after first modify, a "Reset" button/toolbar icon could be displayed somewhere on the property sheet, shortcut for sequence of Undo`s. Also, for nodes implementing some spe
cial cookie, say "ResetToDefaultsCookie", a special button etc. could be available which would reset all settings to the built-in defaults, esp. for control panels.


[IAN] Hmm, the proposed solution is also far from the standard one, for the next release we should reconsider the way global/project setings are presented to the user.
Comment 1 Marek Grummich 2000-07-25 09:16:59 UTC
Priority is changed to P4 (normal).
Comment 2 Marian Mirilovic 2002-01-11 16:56:52 UTC
closed, Tools | Options contains Close button
Comment 3 Jesse Glick 2002-01-12 14:44:43 UTC
"Close" is different from "Cancel", the point still holds. However I
think there is already a request open for the Options dialog to
support resetting particular settings based on layer info, which is
more realistic than this RFE anyway.


By use of this website, you agree to the NetBeans Policies and Terms of Use. © 2012, Oracle Corporation and/or its affiliates. Sponsored by Oracle logo