This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 191540

Summary: provide remote init
Product: versioncontrol Reporter: Tomas Stupka <tstupka>
Component: GitAssignee: Ondrej Vrabec <ovrabec>
Status: NEW ---    
Severity: normal CC: blade106, git, svierkant, terje7601
Priority: P3    
Version: 7.0   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Mac OS X   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Exception Reporter:

Description Tomas Stupka 2010-11-01 20:00:49 UTC
taken from mail at git@versioncontrol.netbeans.org

It should be possible to create a new *remote* repo from inside NetBeans.

The way I currently do this is to create a new local project, then
open the msysgit prompt and run:
- git init
- ssh servername git init --bare serverpath
- git remote add origin servername:serverpath
- git add
- git commit
- git push

I do it this way because:
1. I would rather have a canonical location for all my projects (I use
my own server, but it could just as well be github, etc)
2. I can't log in to the server and do a pull from my workstation due
to firewall issues
3. Creating an empty repo on the server manually before creating the
local project and then doing a git pull seems backwards
Comment 1 svierkant 2013-07-03 11:44:22 UTC
+1

I would like to have Bitbucket as primary location for my repo.
Comment 2 Ondrej Vrabec 2013-09-02 11:57:02 UTC
i think it's possible even now (7.4)
- git init
- git add
- git commit
- Git -> Remote -> Push
the wizard allows you to persist the settings into a new remote, so you can easily setup origin during pushing.

Nevertheless we're missing a general "edit remotes" action