This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 180999

Summary: Netbeans requests non-existing pages when debugging.
Product: php Reporter: derickr
Component: DebuggerAssignee: rmatous <rmatous>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: normal CC: ajinkya, fzamboj, johnbc, jozefh
Priority: P1    
Version: 6.x   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows 7 x64   
Issue Type: DEFECT Exception Reporter:

Description derickr 2010-02-20 16:04:48 UTC
If the variables page is selected, netbeans starts doing this:

<- property_get -i 10921 -n $this -c 0 -p 1
-> <response xmlns="urn:debugger_protocol_v1" xmlns:xdebug="http://xdebug.org/dbgp/xdebug" command="property_get" transaction_id="10921"><property name="$this" fullname="$this" address="49161064" type="object" classname="MyClass" children="1" numchildren="2" page="1" pagesize="31"><property name="CLASSNAME" type="string"><![CDATA[MyClass]]></property><property name="a" fullname="$this-&gt;a" facet="private" address="49154176" type="string" size="1" encoding="base64"><![CDATA[Yg==]]></property><property name="b" fullname="$this-&gt;b" facet="private" address="49161344" type="string" size="1" encoding="base64"><![CDATA[Yg==]]></property></property></response>

<- property_get -i 10922 -n $this -c 0 -p 2
-> <response ...

<- property_get -i 10923 -n $this -c 0 -p 3
-> <response ...

(and it continues increasing the page number until you deselect the variables page).
Obviously netbeans should try to ask for more pages than there are elements for—unfortunately the protocol doesn't specify that it should throw an error then, but I will change Xdebug to not return any properties.

(See also bug #180252)
Comment 1 antonx 2010-02-21 01:11:34 UTC
Thanks Derick for the gret job.

I changed the prio, because today
its just impossible to debug with netbeans,
at least with the configuration nb 6.8+php 5.3.1+linux.

... and we all know debugging is not a "nice to have" but 
something crucial (even if I know lot of people usinf print/echo
in the php domain to debug. A thing which is unthinkable
during c++ development where I came from)
Comment 2 derickr 2010-02-21 09:43:55 UTC
Alright, feel free to contact me through e-mail though. Discussing issues here is annoying :-)
Comment 3 rmatous 2010-02-22 01:36:26 UTC
Derick, thanks for the evaluation. I think there is a fixed duplicate #179533:
http://netbeans.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=179533

logic behind the fix is:

if (numchildren > (page+1)*pageSize)
Comment 4 rmatous 2010-02-22 01:38:53 UTC
logic behind the fix is:

if (numchildren > (page+1)*pageSize)
  send("property_get -i 10923 -n $this -c 0 -p (page+1)")

can you review?
Comment 5 rmatous 2010-02-22 02:03:06 UTC
So, marking as duplicate #179533, please verify or easily reopen if doesn't work for you. Naturally any comment welcome.

Build with fix can be taken from:
http://bertram.netbeans.org/hudson/job/PHP-build/

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 179533 ***
Comment 6 rmatous 2010-02-22 02:04:22 UTC
Filipe, please could you test it, thanks
Comment 7 rmatous 2010-02-22 08:25:22 UTC
*** Bug 171040 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 8 rmatous 2010-02-22 08:40:49 UTC
*** Bug 178854 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 9 ajinkya 2010-02-22 11:19:17 UTC
I have tested latest php build (NetBeans-dev-2010-02-22_18-04-20 -php.zip) and I still get into same problem (as in  Bug 180252). I can't debug on PHP Version 5.3.1 with xDebug 2.0.6-dev  on Windows 7 64bit .
Comment 10 rmatous 2010-02-22 11:40:57 UTC
to  ajinkya: if SocketException is thrown for you then please reopen #180252, if Netbeans requests non-existing pages when debugging(as reported here) then please reopen this issue.

Anyway, before reopening it please be sure that you use the latest xdebug (Xdebug 2.1.0beta2) - at least I would recommend it, definitely derick can give you better info which version of xdebug is needed