This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 157769

Summary: Show code completion automatically
Product: php Reporter: Tomasz Slota <tslota>
Component: EditorAssignee: Ondrej Brejla <obrejla>
Status: NEW ---    
Severity: blocker CC: blakerg, markiewb, pjiricka, rmatous
Priority: P2    
Version: 6.x   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Exception Reporter:
Attachments: Screenshot of configuration setting in zend studio

Description Tomasz Slota 2009-02-02 12:57:46 UTC
Many PHP users request to show the code completion popup automatically (without pressing Ctrl+Space) as the user types. While i'd personally find it very 
annoying we should respect the user habits and provide such option. Reportedly editors that work this way include Komodo Edit and Aptana Studio.

It should be easy to implement but fine tuning for decent performance might be a bit tricky.
Comment 1 kvncylmz 2009-02-02 13:18:00 UTC
To avoid forcing people to have code completion pop up automatically, it could be made an option -people could check a
checbox to indicate whether they want autocomplete to pop up automatically or only when they press ctrl+space. I believe
(read: hope) this wouldn't be much of a trouble for the developers.
Comment 2 Tomasz Slota 2009-02-02 13:26:26 UTC
I agree this should be an *option*, probably disabled by default
Comment 3 marculin 2009-09-15 08:57:34 UTC
I agree this should be an *option*
Comment 4 Petr Jiricka 2009-09-15 12:15:53 UTC
There is already a checkbox under Tools -> Options -> Editor -> Code Completion -> All Languages called "Auto Popup
Completion Window", turned on by default. So shouldn't PHP just respect this option?
Comment 5 rmatous 2009-09-15 12:48:11 UTC
Options in "All Languages" can be used - the question is whether all the options there make sense for any arbitrary
language? I would guess that no language supports cares about all of these options - which is actually bug if presented
as "All Languages" 
Comment 6 rmatous 2009-09-15 13:02:12 UTC
BTW: I would rather have more options than one. Something like:
- autocomplete class member (after -> or ::) - yes/no
- autocomplete variables (after $) - yes/no
- autocomplete namespace names (after \) - yes/no
and so on

for example after $ autocompletion works already now 
Comment 7 marculin 2009-09-15 13:09:11 UTC
If I write "str" don't open automatically the popup with "str_replace, str_ireplace, str_pad.....". I do use
"ctrl+space" ....you can do with the classes as it does for the variables?
Comment 8 Petr Jiricka 2009-09-15 13:09:44 UTC
> no language supports cares about all of these options

I agree this is a bug, and probably some of these options should be moved to Java language.
Comment 9 rmatous 2009-09-15 13:25:51 UTC
Yes task for HIE? Moreover I would prefer to have our option disabled as default, which is impossible if it is generally
shared
Comment 10 rmatous 2009-11-12 08:19:06 UTC
Fixed
Comment 11 blakerg 2009-11-12 10:19:22 UTC
Just installed the latest nightly build.

NetBeans IDE Dev (Build 200911091156)

Tested and it is working great.

Tools -> Options -> Editor -> Code Completion -> Auto Popup Completion Window

Option seems to be respected.

Thanks alot rmatous for your hard work.
Comment 12 godza 2009-12-14 15:52:47 UTC
Created attachment 92564 [details]
Screenshot of configuration setting in zend studio
Comment 13 godza 2009-12-14 15:59:00 UTC
Hi,

I'm a ZendStudio user for many years now. I've switched to netbeans 6.8 and immediately fell in love with this IDE.

In Zend, i have grown accustomed to code completion facility, and i think it's very useful. I't displaying autocompletion dialog, immediately after first character is typed. I see that you've made this option so dialog shows after you stop typing, but this slows me down very much. I use code completion do speed up code typing, and this really annoys me.

Is there a slightest possibility to have this instant code complete dialog integrated? So, immediately after first keystroke i would like to see dialog shown.

Here's how ZendStudio made interface for this option (see attachment). So, there is one box that limits number of results that are shown in dialog (so you won't have rendering sluggishness) and time delay for dialog.

Also, i've provided video to see how it behaves in zend studio http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gglfH-aCO2U

I realize that your goal is not to copy ZendStudio, but i really think that this option is for some developers essential.
Comment 14 Filip Zamboj 2010-09-15 12:28:16 UTC
batch reassigning