Please use the Apache issue tracking system for new NetBeans issues (https://issues.apache.org/jira/projects/NETBEANS0/issues) !!

Bug 122276

Summary: I18N - Ability to choose an encoding of output window.
Product: platform Reporter: karevn <karevn>
Component: Output WindowAssignee: Jaroslav Havlin <jhavlin>
Status: NEW --- QA Contact: issues <issues.netbeans.org>
Priority: P3 CC: fommil, kfrank, pchytil, terje7601
Version: 8.0.1   
Target Milestone: TBD   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows XP   
Whiteboard:
Issue Type: ENHANCEMENT Exception Report:

Description karevn 2007-11-19 12:34:41 UTC
I am Russian and use Windows-1251 encoding as a main encoding. All my rails projects are created using UTF8. So any text
in output window is corrupted because it is expected to be in win-1251 encoding.
Currently I see two ways to resolve this issue:
1. Add "output window encoding" setting at IDE settings.
2. Always keep output window encoding the same as encoding of project it belongs to. I think it is better solution.
Comment 1 Ken Frank 2008-01-02 17:12:59 UTC
does this happen when you use other project types ?

ken.frank@sun.com
Comment 2 Ken Frank 2008-08-21 03:19:28 UTC
what is correct cat/subcat of this issue ? I can move it there.

also, what is the encoding handling rules/process of the output
window ?

ken.frank@sun.com
Comment 3 Petr Chytil 2008-09-04 10:25:37 UTC
reassigning to core/output for evaluation
Comment 4 terje7601 2014-09-17 13:03:27 UTC
Currently the only solution for this seems to be modifying netbeans.conf, by adding "-J-Dfile.encoding=UTF-8" to "netbeans_default_options".
However, in my opinion this solution is not satisfactory for 2 reasons:
- most importantly: I don't want to change the default encoding, I just want to change the encoding of the output window
- and it's not user-friendly having to edit config files
Comment 5 Jaroslav Havlin 2014-09-19 05:19:21 UTC
*** Bug 164372 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 6 Jaroslav Havlin 2014-09-19 05:27:42 UTC
Output Window does not encode data, it should be encoded by clients of its API. See bug 201490 comment 2.

This problem has been already solved. Please check bug 201490 and bug 224526, the comments there may contains some useful information.

Can you please describe your use case, or provide steps to reproduce? After which operations can you see incorrectly encoded output?
Thank you.
By use of this website, you agree to the NetBeans Policies and Terms of Use. © 2014, Oracle Corporation and/or its affiliates. Sponsored by Oracle logo