This Bugzilla instance is a read-only archive of historic NetBeans bug reports. To report a bug in NetBeans please follow the project's instructions for reporting issues.

Bug 224192

Summary: exception in messages.log if user calls New Breakpoint wizard
Product: editor Reporter: soldatov <soldatov>
Component: Code foldingAssignee: Svata Dedic <sdedic>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: normal CC: issues, markiewb
Priority: P3    
Version: 7.3   
Hardware: PC   
OS: All   
Issue Type: DEFECT Exception Reporter:
Attachments: exception in messages.log

Description soldatov 2012-12-24 10:35:01 UTC
Created attachment 129662 [details]
exception in messages.log

>System Info: 
  Product Version         = NetBeans IDE Dev (Build 201212240001) (#477a807c04ea)
  Operating System        = SunOS version 5.11 running on x86
  Java; VM; Vendor        = 1.7.0_10; Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM 23.6-b04; Oracle Corporation
  Runtime                 = Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment 1.7.0_10-b18
  Java Home               = /usr/jdk/jdk1.7.0_10/jre

Scenario:
- Create Samples|C/C++|Welcome project
- Open 'Source Files|welcome.cc'
- Press Debug|New Breakpoint...
- Set Debugger = native and Breakpoint Type = File:Line
- Wait some time
- Press Cancel
- Wait some time
===> exception in messages.log
INFO [org.netbeans.modules.editor.fold.FoldHierarchyExecution]: Document changed, possible inconsistencies in root fold possible. lastDocument = org.netbeans.modules.editor.NbEditorDocument@983f22, mimeType='text/plain', kitClass=null, length=0, version=0, file=null, newDocument = org.netbeans.modules.editor.NbEditorDocument@1549a80, mimeType='text/x-c++', kitClass=null, length=0, version=0, file=null
java.lang.Exception
	at org.netbeans.modules.editor.NbEditorDocument.init(NbEditorDocument.java:157)
	at org.netbeans.modules.editor.NbEditorDocument.<init>(NbEditorDocument.java:121)
	at org.netbeans.modules.editor.NbEditorKit.createDefaultDocument(NbEditorKit.java:175)
	at org.netbeans.modules.cnd.editor.cplusplus.CCKit.createDefaultDocument(CCKit.java:85)
	at javax.swing.JEditorPane.setEditorKit(JEditorPane.java:1058)
	at org.netbeans.api.editor.DialogBinding.bind(DialogBinding.java:160)
	at org.netbeans.api.editor.DialogBinding.bindComponentToFile(DialogBinding.java:119)
	at org.netbeans.modules.cnd.debugger.common2.debugger.actions.EditWatchPanel.createEditorComponent(EditWatchPanel.java:397)
	at org.netbeans.modules.cnd.debugger.common2.debugger.breakpoints.BreakpointPanel$CommonPanel.<init>(BreakpointPanel.java:643)
	at org.netbeans.modules.cnd.debugger.common2.debugger.breakpoints.BreakpointPanel.<init>(BreakpointPanel.java:322)
Comment 1 Vladimir Voskresensky 2012-12-24 11:07:00 UTC
Please, evaluate.
We have a lot of failing tests.

Thanks!
Vladimir.
Comment 2 Svata Dedic 2012-12-28 19:12:57 UTC
The printed message is just a level INFO - is it really breaking for your tests ? Is there a way how to get the information logged and avoid breaking the test ? Because if the message is logged, the root of fold hierarchy is created from a document different from the doc where the rest of fold originate, which may lead to miscalculations based on fold ranges in the future, so I'd rather like to catch & fix the roots of the problem.
Comment 3 soldatov 2012-12-29 07:14:59 UTC
(In reply to comment #2)
> The printed message is just a level INFO - is it really breaking for your tests
> ? Is there a way how to get the information logged and avoid breaking the test
> ? Because if the message is logged, the root of fold hierarchy is created from
> a document different from the doc where the rest of fold originate, which may
> lead to miscalculations based on fold ranges in the future, so I'd rather like
> to catch & fix the roots of the problem.
1) Any test must check messages.log. If log contains 'error' or 'exception' substring, then QA team should be informed about it.
2) You speaks "to catch & fix the roots of the problem", therefore you can close this bug as duplicate of your bug.
Comment 4 Svata Dedic 2012-12-30 09:36:11 UTC
I've disabled the check temporarily until a decent fix is available so your tests pass. 
http://hg.netbeans.org/jet-main/rev/23321d4ca6e7
Comment 5 Quality Engineering 2012-12-31 02:30:38 UTC
Integrated into 'main-golden', will be available in build *201212310001* on http://bits.netbeans.org/dev/nightly/ (upload may still be in progress)
Changeset: http://hg.netbeans.org/main-golden/rev/23321d4ca6e7
User: Svata Dedic <sdedic@netbeans.org>
Log: Issue #224192: hotfix - disabled info log entry breaking the tests. Not a real fix, though
Comment 6 Svata Dedic 2013-01-03 16:38:14 UTC
Changeset: 9848b202c939
Author:    Svata Dedic <sdedic@netbeans.org>
Date:      2013-01-03 17:38
Message:   Root fold should be recreated if the Document is replaced
Comment 7 Jan Lahoda 2013-01-03 21:56:22 UTC
*** Bug 224369 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 8 Quality Engineering 2013-01-05 02:31:07 UTC
Integrated into 'main-golden', will be available in build *201301050001* on http://bits.netbeans.org/dev/nightly/ (upload may still be in progress)
Changeset: http://hg.netbeans.org/main-golden/rev/9848b202c939
User: Svata Dedic <sdedic@netbeans.org>
Log: Issue #224192 - exception in messages.log if user calls New Breakpoint wizard: fixed
Root fold should be recreated if the Document is replaced